On my reading list

Tomorrow is Mother’s Day in my part of the world. In preparation for this, one of my children invited me to shop for my own gift – a truly wonderful invitation. Of course I headed straight for my local bookseller.

It didn’t take me long to choose. Firstly, I wanted a new release which has received some tantalising reviews:

The Beginner’s Goodbye by Anne Tyler

Random House, 2012

 

Regular readers of bigbookcase will have noticed that I have long been a fan of Anne Tyler. She appears in my Top 10 favourite books of all time and my Top 10 book openings. What I most enjoy about Tyler’s writing is the way in which she manages to portray everyday life in the most sublime and beautiful language. In a Sydney Morning Herald review Kerryn Goldsworthy describes this as “Tyler’s trademark tenderness for her fellow human beings, a generosity unsullied by sentimentality”.

I should have been satisfied with my new Anne Tyler novel. However, my local  bookseller had a ‘three for the price of two’ sale on literary and modern classics. Clearly this was a not-to-be-missed offer, so I chose the following three titles:

  1. Atonement by Ian McEwan – because I’ve seen the movie but have not yet read the book.
  2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – because whilst I’ve read it a couple of times, I have never actually owned this novel and decided my book collection would not be complete without this classic. This means of course that I will be revisiting the world of Atticus, Jem and Scout in the near future.
  3. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. As a schoolgirl I devoured many classics, including this one. Some, like Austen, I have re-read many times over the years and I am always delighted to see how my interpretation changes according to my own life experience. As a woman who has faced all the joy and pain of life, the passion and the love, the grief and the sorrow, I am keen to measure my adult response to Anna Karenina compared to that of my teenage self.

Mother’s Day is about so much more than gift giving of course, but a little part of me is secretly delighted to be receiving four beautiful books as my Mother’s Day present. I’ll be back when I’m finished reading……

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Reading matters, Reviews, Women

2 responses to “On my reading list

  1. Kim Beesley

    I must give Anne Tyler books a try as your other two choices for mothers day are two of my all time favourites also. Must have similar taste!

  2. Give Anne Tyler a try Kim – she writes beautifully. I would start with ‘Digging to America’ or ‘Back When We Were Grownups’. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

